Player putts with head cover on putter

Q: A player holed a short putt with the cover still on the clubhead.  Is there a penalty?

A: Yes, the player is disqualified in both stroke and match play under Rule 4-1, Form and Make of Clubs, for using a club that does not conform to the Rules.  Violations of 4-1, Form and Make of Clubs, and 4-2, Playing Characteristics Change and Foreign Material, involving making a stroke with a club in breach are disqualifications.

About wpga

To foster, promote and advance the interests and the true spirit of the game of golf throughout Western Pennsylvania.
This entry was posted in Rule 4. Bookmark the permalink.